INFLUENCES

In 2012, Sight & Sound asked Gaspar Noé a list of movies that had most impacted his life :

 

"This is the list of films that have had the greatest impact on me or influenced me the most in my life. Against my will, I had to leave out films by Murnau, Lang, Von Stroheim, Browning, Dreyer, Belson, Pontecorvo, Wakamatsu, Fassbinder, Eustache, Cavalier, Cronenberg and Mungiu which all featured in my much more extensive initial list. "

2OO1 : A SPACE ODYSSEY

Stanley Kubrick, 1968

This is the film I've seen more than any other in my life – 40 times or more. My life altered when I discovered it when I was about seven in Buenos Aires. It was my first hallucinogenic experience, my great artistic turning point and also the moment when my mother finally explained what a foetus was and how I came into the world. Without this film I would never have become a director.

AMOUR

Michael Haneke, 2012

I hesitated to put this on the list because the emotions are still so raw. I saw it this year in Cannes while my mother was approaching the end of her life as painfully as the film’s heroine. I cried more than in perhaps any other film in my life as a cinephile. Haneke brought to the screen suffering linked to illness and old age exactly as it exists in every family, as it must have existed for a very long time.

ANGST

Gerald Kargl, 1983

A great lesson in visual imagination but also in psychopathology. This film, still poorly known film in Anglo-Saxon countries, was my perpetual point of reference while shooting Seul Contre Tous. It’s the most emotional film about a murderer that I’ve ever seen. I had a VHS dubbed into French that I showed my friends about 50 times.

UN CHIEN ANDALOU

Luis Buñuel, 1929

If there's one premiere I would dream of attending, it’s this film which was decades ahead of its time. There are many directors whose films inspire envy, but in the case of Buñuel, it’s also his life that does it. More of a cry of happiness than a call to murder.

ERASERHEAD

David Lynch, 1977

This film is the second reason why I wanted to learn how to make films. For me it’s the film that best reproduces the language of dreams and nightmares. Apparently Kubrick once said that he regretted not having directed it himself.

I AM CUBA

Mikhaïl Kalatozov, 1964

A revolutionary and lyrical film where the movements turn the camera into a symphonic instrument, and one of the principal sources of inspiration for my long sequence shots in Irreversible and Enter the Void.

KING KONG

Merlan C. Cooper, 1933

Another film as perfect as it is extraordinary. I wish I could have been at the first screening in 1933! That must have been pure magic for contemporary spectators. With 2001 and Metropolis, it's one of the three most ambitious films of all time and the greatest spectacle of entertainment that I know of. 

SALO OR THE 120 DAYS OF SODOM

Pier Paolo Pasolini, 1975

The film that my mother considered it essential to take me to see on the eve of my 18th birthday. I was old enough to learn the torture and the reptilian nature of human relationships. To this day, I continue to consider it as the most educational film about man’s domination by man.

SCORPIO RISING

Kenneth Anger, 1963

A film as unique as it is perfect. Much like with Un Chien Andalou, I can watch it on repeat and never get bored. A great aesthetic experience that can only be compared to Anger’s other masterpiece, Inauguration of the Pleasure Dome.

TAXI DRIVER

Martin Scorsese, 1975

If there's a cinematic hero I dream of being, it’s Travis Bickle. This film fills me with joy at De Niro’s charisma and Scorsese’s amphetaminic staging. He’s the kindest and most cinephilic film director I’ve ever had the luck of meeting. With Midnight Cowboy and Taxi Driver, this is the film that seems to best represent the dirty New York of the ’60s and ’70s as the centre of the world in which I partly grew up.

Le Temps Détruit Tout — 2021

Site non officiel dédié à Gaspar Noé

INFLUENCES

En 2012, Sight & Sound demande à Gaspar Noé de dresser une liste des films ayant le plus d'impact sur lui :

 

"Ceci est la liste des films qui ont eu le plus d'impact sur moi ou qui m'ont le plus influencé dans ma vie. Contre mon gré, j'ai dû exclure les films de Murnau, Lang, Von Stroheim, Browning, Dreyer, Belson, Pontecorvo, Wakamatsu, Fassbinder, Eustache, Cavalier, Cronenberg et Mungiu qui figuraient tous dans ma liste initiale beaucoup plus approfondie."

2OO1 : L'ODYSSÉE DE L'ESPACE

Stanley Kubrick, 1968

C'est le film que j'ai vu plus de fois que n'importe quel autre film dans ma vie - 40 fois ou plus. Ma vie a changé quand je l'ai découvert lorsque j'avais environ sept ans à Buenos Aires. C'était ma première expérience hallucinogène, mon point tournant artistique et aussi le moment où ma mère m'a expliqué ce qu'était un fœtus et comment je suis venu au monde. Sans ce film, je ne serais jamais devenu réalisateur.

AMOUR

Michael Haneke, 2012

J'ai hésité à rajouter ce film dans la liste car les émotions sont encore trop récentes. Je l'ai vu cette année à Cannes tandis que ma mère approchait la fin de sa vie aussi douloureusement que l'héroïne. J'ai peut-être pleuré plus que dans n'importe quel film de toute ma vie de cinéphile. Haneke a porté à l'écran la souffrance lié à la maladie et au vieil âge exactement comme ça existe dans toutes les familles, comme ça a dû exister depuis très longtemps.

SCHIZOPHRENIA

Gerald Kargl, 1983

Une grande leçon sur l'imagination visuelle mais aussi en psychopathologie. Ce film, toujours méconnu dans les pays Anglo-saxons, était ma référence perpétuelle lors du tournage de Seul Contre Tous. C'est le film le plus émotionnel sur un meurtrier que j'ai jamais vu. J'avais une VHS doublée en français que j'ai montrée à mes amis environ 50 fois.

UN CHIEN ANDALOU

Luis Buñuel, 1929

S'il y a une avant-première à laquelle je rêverais d'assister, c'est celle de ce film qui avait des décennies d'avance. Il y a plein de réalisateurs dont les films rendent jaloux, mais dans le cas de Buñuel, c'est aussi sa vie qui rend jaloux. C'est plus des larmes de joie qu'un appel au meurtre.

ERASERHEAD

David Lynch, 1977

Ce film est la deuxième raison pour laquelle j'ai eu envie d'apprendre à faire des films. Pour moi, c'est le film qui reproduit au mieux le langage des rêves et des cauchemars. Apparemment, Kubrick a un jour dit qu'il regrettait de ne pas l'avoir réalisé lui-même.

SOY CUBA

Mikhaïl Kalatozov, 1964

Un film révolutionnaire et lyrique où les mouvements changent la caméra en instrument symphonique, et l'une des principales sources d'inspiration pour les plans-séquences dans Irréversible et Enter the Void.

KING KONG

Merlan C. Cooper, 1933

Un autre film aussi parfait qu'extraordinaire. J'aurais voulu être à sa première projection en 1933! Ça devait être magique pour les spectateurs contemporains. Avec 2001 et Metropolis, c'est l'un des trois films les plus ambitieux de tous les temps et le plus grand spectacle de divertissement que je connaisse.

SALO ou les 120 journées de Sodome

Pier Paolo Pasolini, 1975

Le film que ma mère a considéré essentiel de m'emmener voir la veille de mes 18 ans. J'étais assez vieux pour apprendre la torture et la nature reptilienne des relations humaines. À ce jour, je continue de le considérer comme étant le film le plus éducatif sur la domination de l'Homme sur l'Homme. 

SCORPIO RISING

Kenneth Anger, 1963

Un film aussi unique que parfait. Tout comme pour Un Chien Andalou, je peux le voir et revoir sans jamais m'en lasser. Une grande expérience esthétique qui ne peut être comparée qu'avec l'autre chef d'œuvre de Anger, Inauguration of the Pleasure Dome.

TAXI DRIVER

Martin Scorsese, 1975

S'il y a un héros de cinéma que je rêverais d'être, c'est Travis Bickle. Ce film me remplit de joie grâce au charisme de De Niro et de la mise en scène amphétaminique de Scorsese. C'est le plus gentil et le plus cinéphile des réalisateurs que j'ai eu la chance de rencontrer. Avec Macadam Cowboy et Taxi Driver, ce film semble le mieux représenter le New-York sali des années 60 et 70 comme étant le centre du monde dans lequel j'ai partiellement grandi.

Le Temps Détruit Tout — 2021

Site non officiel dédié à Gaspar Noé